Cowboy Up!!

Dude…

We are just back from our week-end in Crater Lake, and oh man, this was truly incredible! Lots of people recommended us to go there (even when I came for the first time in Portland in the plane, the guy sat next to me told me “you -little french person- GOT to go there!! It’s my favourite place!” “ok ok I will then!”)

So here we are, knowing we are moving soon to a new and empty flat, on friday night, wondering whether we should or not go to this famous place. Monday was Labour day here in the US, so lots of shops were doing great deals for beds, sofas, and all these exciting furniture stuff. Well obviously my dear husband and myself did not really like the idea of spending the week end in big superstore, so within a minute we decided to put few hiking stuff in the back of the car, and just go!! Let’s escape for 3 days yepee!

It takes 4h30 to go but there were quite a few funny things happening on the way, because the American football season has just started and we had the chance to observe a few very funny fancy dressed cars. A few coffees, peanut butter M&M’s and pictures later we arrived… 🙂

We managed to book into a B&B very last-minute and frankly we were very dubious because everything else was full and we though the place must have had a big issue. Well no. no no no no no. it was a few miles away from the lake, in the middle of fields (and nowehere) and it was a RANCH. with lots of cows, and lots of horses. yeah I know, like a ranch but still! So cool to find this as a surprise! Inside it was a proper cowboy place, with saddle everywhere, and hats!! so many hats! I was very, very excited. I loved the place straight away!

basically the whole day after we hiked all around the lake. Up to 2700 meters. more than 6 hours in total. up and down like crazy chipmunks. The views were really stunning. I mean this is quiet a special lake. It was created after a volcano exploded and….well if you want to know you can read it all here:

Crater Lake: where the hell is it coming from

and listening to that, just because it is a very nice song and it does not have any link to my story:

Beatles forever

At night we had dinner with Michael who is half cowboy half yacht retailer. (I guess the horses are expensive right??) and his wife Penny, with 2 more guests. We had a lot of very nice wine, a lot of ribs, and corn on the cobb -my favourite- and they all made fun of us asking if we were not choked about eating with our hands…we were not able to answer, far too concentrated on our ribs. After dinner, we sat outside, watching the stars, with wool cover (it’s SO cold there at night…) and by a massive fire having organic beer (which has a very funny taste by the way!!). We never saw the milky way like this before. It was really beautiful.

To finish on an adventurous note, Michael offered us to try some horse ridding the morning after. I did not even have to look at Adri at that time, because I knew very well both of us are very scared about horses (because we fell miserably when we were kids) but for some reason, the fire, the ribs, the lake, we decided to surpass that and try again! It was really cool! We stayed in the arena though, but next time with a bit more training we will maybe try one of their week ends camping with the horses. that would be pretty awesome 🙂 Hopefully you guys will be able to try too!! and even if not in Oregon, I’m pretty sure you can horse ride anywhere 🙂 I tried the Avatar thing with my hair but my horse -this good old Spencer- did not like it so much…I wonder why! 🙂

Please find below the trailer for the next movie:

I am off to France tomorrow until the 27th of September… But stay tuned! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment